Franchising Excellence award winners announced


The franchising industry celebrated great achievements in the sector at the FCA Excellence in Franchising awards 2012 on Tuesday 9th October.

Once again convenience store 7-Eleven scooped the top award of Established Franchisor of the Year with Luxottica, the eyewear business, taking out the Emerging Franchisor of the Year award.

It was a good night for poolcare franchise, PoolWerx, with Queensland franchisees Michelle and Tony Graham winning the Multi-unit Franchisee of the Year award and PoolWerx founder John O’Brien inducted into the Hall of Fame.

Founder of Aussie Pooch Mobile, Christine Taylor, also joined the prestigious line-up of franchising figures in the Hall of Fame.

Joondalup franchisee at Signarama, Craig Mason, was presented with the Franchisee of the Year – Two or More Staff award, while Mister Minit’s Daniel Conroy from Ipswich took out the award for Franchisee of the Year – Less than Two Staff.

Another franchisee, Carolyn McManus, who owns five The Coffee Club franchises and one Ribs and Rumps outlet, was named Franchise Woman of the Year.

The Franchise Executive of the Year winner was John Pascoe of Battery World Australia with the battery franchise also the national winner for Franchise Innovation.

The Field Manager of the Year award went to Shane McMillan of Mister Minit.

Fastway Couriers scooped the Excellence in Marketing award for its rebranding initative.

The Supplier of the Year award went to boutique franchise business consultancy FC Business Solutions.

Gelatissimo’s performance overseas was recognised with the International Franchising award. Marco Lopresti, joint CEO, told Franchising the ice cream franchises successful entry into markets including Italy, Kuwait, Singapore and Indonesia is thanks to its ability to take an artisan product and have it replicated across the system, made fresh, in-store every day.

"It's fitting for our 10th anniversary. It's a great way to commemorate it and we're very proud," he said.

For the first time, the Franchisor Social Responsibility award was split between two winners: Bakers Delight and the Bendigo and Adelaide Bank. Bakers Delight also claimed the Franchisee Community Service award, which went to Jo and Maurie Patterson from Caneland, Queensland.

This year’s Contribution to Franchising award was presented to Philip Ciniglio of Market Minds, who has more than 20 years’ association with the sector.


My shortlist (0 item)
    Back to Top